Royal Wahingdoh pull out of the I-League

The Royals will not ply their trade in the country’s top division league in the 2015-16 season…

The I-League has suffered yet another jolt on Wednesday when Royal Wahingdoh informed the All India Football Federation (AIFF) of its decision to not participate in the 2015-16 I-League season, Goal can confirm. This is the third club which has opted to pull out of the country’s top division league after the likes of Pune FC and Bharat FC.

It must be noted that Wahingdoh was granted a national license to compete in the I-League next season in the last week of October by the Club Licensing Committee of the I-League.

The northeastern outfit plied their trade in the I-League for the very first time last season and finished third on the standings under the guidance of Santosh Kashyap.

According to sources within the AIFF, the Royals have cited a lack of a clear roadmap for the I-League as the primary reason to pull out. Also the investment made by a club to play in the I-League doesn’t justify the hype around it.

“Yes, they have notified the AIFF of their decision to not participate in the I-League,” informed an AIFF source.

The I-League would now constitute of nine teams next season, namely Mohun Bagan, East Bengal, Mumbai FC, Bengaluru FC, Aizawl FC, Shillong Lajong, Sporting Clube de Goa, Salgaocar FC and new entrants DSK-Shivajians.

However, unlike Pune FC and Bharat FC, Wahingdoh will continue to have its first team participate in domestic tournaments, except the I-League.

When Goal contacted Wahingdoh’s general manager, Nicholas Jyrwa, he chose not to comment but neither did he deny the development. Attempts made to reach out to the AIFF for an official statement were unsuccessful.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *