The Prestigious Nobel Prize 2015 ||In The Field Of Physics, Chemistry And Medicine..

Every year, the prestigious Nobel Prize is given to honour those who have made outstanding contribution in their respective fields, providing remarkable discoveries or works of art.

Here is the list of the winners of this year’s Nobel Prize in the field of physics, chemistry and medicine:

 The Nobel Prize in Physics 2015

Takaaki Kajita and Arthur B. McDonald

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2015 was awarded jointly to Japanese Physicist, Takaaki Kajita, and Canadian Astrophysicist, Arthur B. McDonald, “for the discovery of neutrino oscillations, which shows neutrinos have mass”

On receiving the prestigious award, Kajita said that it was “unbelievable”, thanking the “neutrinos” for his success. He also said at a press conference in Tokyo: “And since neutrinos are created by cosmic rays, I want to thank them, too.”

Neutrinos are subatomic particles produced by the decay of radioactive elements, and earlier were believed to have no electric charge. Kajita, at the University of Tokyo, and McDonald, at the Queen’s University in Kingston, proved otherwise, showing that neutrinos indeed have mass.


The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2015

Tomas Lindahl, Paul Modrich and Aziz Sancar

Tomas Lindahl, Paul Modrich and Aziz Sancar were jointly awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2015 “for mechanistic studies of DNA repair”.

These three pioneers discovered how cells repair their DNA and protect it from assaults that the body and the environment put them through.

Dr. Lindahl from Sweden was honored for discovering ‘how cells generally fix DNA damage’, while Dr. Modrich, the James B. Duke Professor of Biochemistry at Duke University, was recognized ‘for showing how cells correct mistakes in DNA replication during cell division’, and Turkish Biochemist Dr. Sancar ‘for mapping how cells repair DNA damage from ultraviolet light’.

The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2015

This year, three scientists have won the Nobel prize in medicine for their discoveries concerning malaria and infections caused by roundworm parasites.

William C. Campbell and Satoshi Omura

Irish-born American biologist Dr. William C. Campbell and Japanese Biochemist Satoshi Omura have jointly been awarded “for their discoveries concerning a novel therapy against infections caused by roundworm parasites”

The two researchers have discovered avermectin, a treatment for roundworm parasites.


Tu Youyou

The other half of the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2015 has been given to Tu Youyou “for her discoveries concerning a novel therapy against Malaria”.

The 84-year old Chinese pharmacologist has been recognized for her discovery of artemisinin, a drug that has the most rapid action against Plasmodium falciparum malaria.

The names of the winners of 2015 Nobel Prize in Literature, Nobel Peace Prize, and the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel are yet to be announced. Keep an eye here to find out more!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *